Skip to content →

About the Authors

Marco Fieber

Marco in Goris (Armenia), May 2012

Almost half a year before the Chernobyl accident Marco Fieber was born in Quedlinburg, a city of world cultural heritage and back then part of the GDR. However, he grew up in the Thuringian Forest before he ended up in the student paradise of Jena. With the exception of a 7-month stay in the “most beautiful city in the world”, Hamburg, he lived in the university town until the summer of 2011.

Then the Great Caucasus and the Black Sea lured him to Georgia, more precisely to the capital Tbilisi. As an exchange student he studied there “Transformation in the South Caucasus” for two semesters. Back in Germany, he first moved to Erfurt to finish my studies in Political Science and Caucasian Studies, then to Berlin for several internships and finally to Munich.

From October 2013 to May 2016 he studied East European Studies at the University of Munich, majoring in Political Science and East European History. In between he tried to improve his Russian at the Siberian Federal University in Krasnoyarsk – of course not without exploring the vastness of Siberia.

For years he worked as a freelance photographer and journalist. From October 2016 to December 2018 he was a news and politics editor at HuffPost Germany.

Marco started Ostblog in 2007 (first under the name Unblogbar, since 2012 under its current name). He is a member of the journalist network n-ost and chairman of the human rights organisation Libereco – Partnership for Human Rights.
Philipp Lausberg

Philipp at the Mar Mattai monastery (Iraq), May 2017

Philipp Lausberg was born in Munich and spent his childhood years in the complacent atmosphere of 1990s Upper Bavaria. On holidays one would go to the Toscana or the South of France rather than Siberia or the Donbass. But impressed by the intensity of music and history of Russia and inspired by a multilingual family friend he took up learning Russian at the age of 16. In the same year he visited a friend in winterly Eastern Ukraine. Snowy Kharkiv was in a pitiful state at the time, but the warmth of the people and the craziness of his experiences there have pulled him back to the post-Soviet space time and again.

In the framework of his Bachelor in history and politics at Oxford he studied one semester of Slavic studies at the University of Munich and subsequently spent several months at the daily newspaper The Moscow Times in the Russian capital. Afterwards he completed a Master in Russian and East European Studies and later ended up repeatedly working in Moscow. First for a TV channel and then for the German start-up incubator Rocket Internet.

On extensive travels through Central Asia in 2016, he started taking portrait shots of locals, who thrilled him with their extraordinary stories. This turned into a project with the name “Faces of the East”, which has taken him on travels and organised expeditions to record the stories of people across Siberia, the Volga region, the Caucasus, Ukraine and the Middle East for example. Most of those will be uploaded one by one first on his Facebook page and subsequently here on Ostblog, where we have created a map to provide a geographical overview for the stories.

Since early 2019 Philipp has been running Ostblog together with Marco and they have great plans for the page. So stay tuned!

Springe zum Inhalt →

Über die Autoren

Marco Fieber

Marco in Goris (Armenien), Mai 2012

Knapp ein halbes Jahr vor der Katastrophe von Tschernobyl wurde Marco Fieber in der Weltkulturerbstadt Quedlinburg in der damaligen DDR geboren. Allerdings wuchs er im Thüringer Wald auf, ehe es ihn in das Studentenparadies Jena verschlug. Bis auf eine 7-monatige Flucht in „die schönste Stadt der Welt“, Hamburg, hielt er es in dem Universitätsort immerhin bis zum Jahr Sommer 2011 aus.

Doch dann lockte ihn der Große Kaukasus und das Schwarze Meer nach Georgien, genauer gesagt in die Hauptstadt Tbilissi. Dort studierte er als Austauschstudent für zwei Semester „Transformation in the South Caucasus“. Zurück in Deutschland zog es ihn erst nach Erfurt, zum Beenden seines Politikwissensschafts- und Kaukasiologie-Studiums, dann nach Berlin für Praktika und schließlich nach München.

Von Oktober 2013 bis Mai 2016 studierte er an der dortigen Universität Osteuropastudien mit den Schwerpunkten Politikwissenschaft und Osteuropäische Geschichte. Zwischendurch versuchte er sein Russisch an der Sibirischen Föderalen Universität in Krasnojarsk aufzumöbeln – selbstverständlich nicht ohne die Weiten Sibiriens zu erforschen.

Jahrelang war er als freier Fotograf und Journalist tätig. Von Oktober 2016 bis Dezember 2018 war er Nachrichten- und Politik-Redakteur bei der HuffPost Deutschland.

Marco startete den Ostblog im Jahr 2007 (zuerst unter dem Namen Unblogbar, seit 2012 unter dem aktuellen Namen). Er ist Mitglied beim Journalisten-Netzwerk n-ost und Vorsitzender der Menschenrechtsorganisation Libereco – Partnership for Human Rights.
Philipp Lausberg

Philipp in ???, Dezember 2018

Philipp Lausberg wurde in Schwabing geboren und verbrachte seine Kindheit im beschaulichen München der 1990er Jahre. In den Urlaub fuhr man damals eher in die Toskana oder Südfrankreich als nach Sibirien oder in den Donbass. Doch inspiriert durch die Wucht der Musik und Geschichte Russlands und einen polyglotten Familienfreund begann er mit 16 Russisch zu lernen. Noch im gleichen Jahr besuchte er einen Freund in der winterlichen Ost-Ukraine. Das zugeschneite Charkiw war in einem bemitleidenswerten Zustand, doch die Wärme der Menschen und die Verrücktheit der Erlebnisse haben ihn seither immer wieder zurück in den post-sowjetischen Raum gezogen.

Im Rahmen seines Studiums der Politik und Geschichte in Oxford studierte er auch ein Semester Slawistik an der LMU und verbrachte danach mehrere Monate in Moskau bei der Tageszeitung The Moscow Times. Anschließend hängte er noch einen Master in Russland- und Osteuropastudien dran und landete dann beruflich immer wieder in Moskau. Dort arbeitete er für einen TV Kanal sowie die deutsche Start-up-Schmiede Rocket Internet.

2016 unternahm er eine Reise durch Zentralasien, auf der er begann, Porträts von Menschen zu schießen, deren außergewöhnliche Stories ihn begeisterten. Dieses Projekt, das mittlerweile „Faces of the East“ heißt, hat ihn auf wochenlangen Reisen und organisierten Forschungsexpeditionen durch die Wolgaregion, den Kaukasus, Sibirien, die Ukraine und auch den Nahen Osten begleitet und dabei mit vielen bemerkenswerten Menschen in Kontakt gebracht, deren Geschichte er aufschrieb und die er fotografierte. Die meisten davon werden nach und nach erst auf seiner Facebook-Seite und anschließend auf Ostblog hochgeladen, wo wir eigens eine Karte dafür geschaffen haben, um einen geographischen Überblick der Stories zu schaffen.

Seit Anfang 2019 betreibt Philipp den Ostblog gemeinsam mit Marco. Wir haben noch einiges mit der Seite vor – es lohnt sich also dran zu bleiben!